Gretchen Sutphin (She/her)

MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
Accepting Clients

Not the typical white woman therapist, I'm a recent MSW grad, but have over 20 years corporate, marketing, & business ownership experience.

Clinical Social Worker in Richmond, VA
Supervised by Carroll Martin, LCSW


About My Clients

My ideal client is seeking help with processing struggles in their life that can come in many different forms. They have goals, but may have feelings of unease, frustration, depression, or confusion regarding how to achieve them or what is holding them back. My ideal client values straightforward feedback and wants to learn more about themselves. That can involve addressing issues that they may not have considered as relevant, but are accepting of exploring and connecting the dots.

My Background and Approach

I'm a recent MSW graduate from Boston University, but I have 20 years of career experience in corporate, marketing, and community outreach positions, a Masters in Strategic PR and have built and expanded my own business since 2014. Needless to say, starting my practice was a given as I knew that I wanted to be able to work with clients that needed my specific experience and also connected with my “philosophy”. My philosophy is pretty simple – let’s find your strengths, identify your barriers and connect the dots between actions and thoughts and feelings. Psychoeducation is a huge part of my focus as I want you to feel empowered no matter your needs. I will challenge you to examine thought processes and how that can dictate your communications and actions. Anxiety, depression, anger, processing, trauma are overlapping and can be overwhelming. But I hope to provide you some direction to help identify, accept and adjust for progress and success.

My Personal Beliefs and Interests

I am a cisgendered female and my pronouns are she/her/her. I also identify as neurodivergent and part of the LGBTQ+ community. I am also vegan for many reasons that encompass intersectional reasons that include exploitation of the environment and low income workers and communities as well as the impact on a global scale. I am fervent supporter of bodily autonomy and support gender affirming services and also have a business that I am building towards being more visibly supportive of this area. I strongly believe that my degree and work in social work dictates that I am vocal and actively supportive of true social justice issues. My home is ruled by rescue animals and I wouldn't have it any other way.

I have experience with the following
  • Agnosticism
  • Atheism
  • Christianity
  • Judaism

At A Glance

  • Experience: 2 years of practice
  • Languages: English
  • Rate: $150/session

Reach out to Gretchen